Who wants to read about dying?… Anyone??

I know I don’t…

This is something I have been avoiding reading about this week but seeing as I have to have it done by tomorrow …. (It’s part of my volunteering orientation homework)

I don’t know how much I will write about all of this. It’s not that I think I am afraid to die. It is the losing people from my life. The more that I have to face it and see it, the more the weight of it is realized.

Don’t get me wrong, I have lost loved ones and friends before. But this is a different experience altogether. This is describing it in detail. This is knowing that this person you are going to connect with and comfort is staring at the real face of death. Their journey in this life is coming to an end.

I don’t know who I will become through this experience, but I’m hoping it will be a wiser, stronger, more sensitive, better listener, more empathetic being.

That was something else we talked about… we are human BEings. We are so used to doing something, that sometimes the best thing to do for a patient is just BE with them. Experience, absorb, listen…

Well, no more procrastination…

Leave a Reply

