Eyes open in spite of closed mind…

I don’t know what else to title this.  I just feel that every day is a day to have my eyes opened.  To be made more aware of myself and the world around me.  To be able to learn in every situation rather than burying my head in  the sand. 
Even in the most negative situations I want to try and learn something about who I am and my place in this world.  We too often don’t realize how our life, our words,  or our actions affect the lives of others. 
I know I am guilty of this.  I know my heart and what it feels inside but there are times where I’m in  the middle of an argument or a debate wondering how it even got to this point.  And I just want it to be over and the other person is still going so there is that feeling that it must continue. 
If at the end of the day I can’t see myself clearly and learn from these situations,  I feel it is such a waste.  Two people arguing,  where emotions are laid bare in front of each other.  There is a feeling of rawness that opens up and one or both are left licking their wounds looking over their shoulder at their attacker.  Sometimes it so hard to see it from the other’s point of view.  We only see our pains and how we were victims. 
We can lose friendships,  trust,  break long time bonds in the matter of minutes.

How do you “stop”  an argument or debate before it goes to a place from which neither can recover? 
What relationships were lost or broken in your life because of a disagreement? Are some relationships (familial, romantic, friend)  worth losing or ending because of these differences of opinion? 

Leave a Reply

